Musing Mondays (June 3)

MusingMondays5Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it! 
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!


My Musing: 

I’ve commented before that I found a site on Goodreads that participates in Read for Reviews in which authors give their books to people free in exchange for a review on various websites.   Well I have really been enjoying this activity and have been lucky enough to come across some really great finds.  My musing today and my predicament is that I am not sure what to do with a book that I just couldn’t finish.  Either the writing was not edited very well or the story was boring or whatever.  I have no issue with constructive criticism, but I hate telling someone that their book is not up to par.  I was hoping that maybe someone would be able to offer advice.  Should I give the honest review and say it is a 1 or 2 star and say what is wrong with it?  Or should I sugar coat it a little bit?  I don’t think it is fair to the good books to say it was good when it wasn’t.

Then I started thinking about other reviews say from fellow authors that are trying to promote their work.   Hopefully I will get some good comments to help me with my dilemma.

 

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your musing in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks! :D

Monday Musing  is a meme hosted by Should Be Reading. Check out their blog!

11 responses to “Musing Mondays (June 3)

  1. I think it is best to say what you really think about it, but try to find a little goodness about it as well.

  2. Yes, I know your problem! I guess it is good to be honest but not horrible. GoodReads is such a great place to find r2rs

  3. honesty is the way to go… point out what you didn’t like about the book but say it in a gentle way 🙂
    thanks for stopping by my blog

  4. Well, I do write a bad review when it is a bad book, but I don’t like it. Still, I don’t want people buying it and wasting their money …

  5. Thanks for the advice. I appreciate it.

  6. Constructive criticism is the key. Mix the negative with the positives. Find the good to share about the book, even if it’s a one star read. And with the negative remarks, share ways to improve the work. Writers need to learn how to make positive changes. Always add that these are your opinions. Sometimes that helps.

    Here’s MY MUSING MONDAYS POST

  7. It is tough when you have to review a book you didn’t enjoy. I always try to be honest yet nice about it.

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2013/06/musing-mondays.html

  8. I like Laurelrain’s answer. As long as it’s constructive, criticism doesn’t have to be a bad thing.

    My Musing is here

  9. ladyambrosiaj

    I think you should be honest about it. I always am when there is a book I did not like. But try to find at least one nice thing you liked about the book to offer along with the bad. That’s what I do although it does not always work.

I love comments so please feel free to leave one!